Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner

Looking for a recommendation

2K views 12 replies 10 participants last post by  philb 
#1 ·
First post, new member. I've lurked for a bit, and read through the FAQs, and I'm ready to jump in. I've been riding for about 17 years and want another bike. My first bikes were all Hondas (worked my way up through the CB family -- 550F to 750F to CBR600F2). I consider myself a fairly decent and safe rider. I have the most fun going around corners, and pure top end speed isn't important to me at all. Since the Monster came out I've always wanted to get one, and I think it's finally going to work out.

What would you recommend given my past riding experience, and the fact that I'm new to the Ducati brand? My budget is around $4500 so used is my only option. I live in California, and I read at ducatitech.com that "The Monster 600 (583cc) came to the US around 2000, but wasn't welcomed in the state of California". Are there any other model years like this that won't work for a California registration?

Any feedback you can give will be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

#4 ·
Ok.  I know that was a little open-ended, so let me clarify a little.  I think I'm down to picking between a newish 620 or an older M900.  I know the bike will be as fast as the rider, but I'm a little concerned I'm going to miss the acceleration of my F2.   Do you think I should spend my money on a newer 620 for the reliability/refinements a new model gives, or spend it on an older 900 for the power increase?

Thoughts/personal attacks are all welcomed.  Thanks...

#5 ·
go with the 900. you will be dissapointed with the power of the smaller ones. Don't settle for less.

#7 ·
#8 ·