»
»
» Other Ducati Motorcycle sites
» Insurance
» Sponsors
» Our Partners
»ATV Reviews
»Motorcycle Games

Old 01-29-2005, 09:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
Adamizzer01

Default Muscle fatigue?

I went for my first long ride on the Monster today. I took US 1 south from Monterey down past Big Sur and back. It was an absolutely beautiful day and the scenery/ twisties were outstanding. The only problem is that my hands feel really wierd now that the ride is over. I can't seem to grip much, and can hardly hold my cigarette to smoke it? Is this normal for a two hour ride. (considering that I just started riding) It feels like I've lost some strength in my throttle hand. Any ideas?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-29-2005, 10:06 PM   #2 (permalink)

Default Re: Muscle fatigue?

Give up smoking? ;D
Old 01-29-2005, 10:08 PM   #3 (permalink)

Send a message via AIM to lll0228 Send a message via Yahoo to lll0228

It's pretty normal if it's the first time you do it.
Old 01-29-2005, 10:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
SacDuc

Adam,

I haven't been riding long myself and I had a similar problem on my first few long rides. Hands would cramp and/or feel weak and numb afterwards. I realized I was supporting much too much of my weight on my bars (clip-ons actually) and that I had a bit of a death grip. I just began making an effort to remember to support my weight with my abs and back, and to relax my shoulders. I still get a bit of a death grip when in the twisties for a while, but I use the small straights to flex my hands and ease my grip.

This seems to work. I did 150 miles today (a few errands then Sac to Napa and back) and I feel friggin' great!
Old 01-29-2005, 10:38 PM   #5 (permalink)

Probably just not used to it. When I first got back in to things, my hands literally ached. It