Considering an '06 620 Monster Dark - Ducati Monster Forums: Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum

» Site Navigation
»
»
»
» Other Ducati Motorcycle sites
» Insurance
» Sponsors
» Our Partners
»ATV Reviews
»Motorcycle Games

Old 11-06-2012, 10:12 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default Considering an '06 620 Monster Dark

I've been riding for about two years now, but so far I'm only on cruisers. I'm looking at getting a Euro naked now, and there's a shop up the road from me with an '06 Monster 620 Dark with 28K miles for sale. I'll be going to look at it this week, so I have a couple questions:

First, are there any mechanical or electrical gotchas I should be looking for when I do my lookabout?

Second, what are your experiences with owning and maintaining a 30K+ mile Monster? This bike will probably get ridden quite a bit, and I expect to stay with it for a while if I get it.

Third, what would you all suggest as a price point? Kelly Blue Book says $4,600 for excellent condition. How much should 28K miles depreciate that?
wmjbyatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-09-2012, 09:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Moderator

Aside from all the usual bike stuff, on a Ducati you want to see some decent maintenance records, and especially that the valves have been checked regularly somewhere near schedule, and that the cambelts have been replaced within the last two years.

You will also want to make sure it ahs all the keys -- there should be one red key (important!) and two black ones.

Other than that, they're pretty normal, and very durable and reliable. A friend on mine has about 50K on her M620, and it's been a reliable bike. Mine's older and a little different, but the same basic design and mechanicals, and I'm over 200K on it.

PhilB