Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum banner

2008 Monster S4RS rear brakes feel weak

5K views 15 replies 6 participants last post by  toytuff 
#1 ·
I am new to Ducati's and I test rode a 2008 S4RS today with low miles. Everything about the bike was awesome...except for the rear brake. At first I thought the pedal needed to be adjusted, like maybe it was at weird angle. But then I got up to about 15-20 mph and pushed the rear brake pedal as far down as I could and it barely slowed the bike down at all. MY question is, is that normal? The front brakes felt super strong. I would expect more from Brembo brakes.

After the test ride, the owner stated that all Ducati bikes with single sided swing arms have weak rear brakes? I find that hard to believe. Can someone help me? Please tell me the rear brake can be improved?

#3 ·
The biggest issue here is that to bleed the brake properly you have to remove the caliper, turn it right side up or use a vacuum bleed on it.

With the bleed screw facing down the air can not escape in the line or caliper. Physics 101.

With a proper bleed it will work just fine especially with the rear brake on your model. I have the wimpy Brembo on my S2R800 and can lock the rear wheel easy.

The excuses given ceases to amaze me. I'm afraid for America.

tt

#15 ·
LOL OUCH!

OK, flame resistant suit on so here goes.

You probably need to adjust your technique.