Looking to buy M1200 - What should I look out for? - Ducati Monster Forums: Ducati Monster Motorcycle Forum
 3Likes

post #1 of 24 (permalink) Old 06-17-2017, 11:13 PM Thread Starter

Looking to buy M1200 - What should I look out for?

Hey guys,

Let me just go over a quick history of motorcycles and myself and why getting a M1200 is high on my list.

I've ridden my first bike since 2008 (Suzuki GS500F), I'm a very simple person and due to this, I've never wanted to upgrade my bike until I knew EXACTLY what I wanted for my next bike. My next bike I wish to keep for the next 20-30 years (probably for life). I don't care for new gadgets or what not in newer models as the bike I've been riding since 2008 is pretty old school (has no ABS, TC, Rider modes etc) ... So I won't exactly be jealous of newer models having newer gadgets and toys. So keeping the bike for decades to come is do-able for me.

So down to the main part of this ... I have taken a liking to naked bikes, specifically street fighters. I have highly considered Triumph's Speed Triple and Ducati M1200. On a side note, I also took interest in the BMW R1200 GSA as I would also like to go off-road and take road trips... though I am a relatively young lad so I think getting something a little more sexier should be in my books (quite shallow I know).

I've done a bit of reading over official Ducati websites, review websites, read forums (notably this one) and watched youtube videos on the M1200. Despite all this, I think getting an honest down the Earth review from owners themselves is the way to go. It seems to me the M1200S is the way to go, rather than the R, is this correct? Apparently it comes with better toys?

The focus of this thread is judging from my needs and wants, how fitting is the M1200 for me?
How reliable is it? As I said earlier, this bike may be my bike for the next few decades, will it last the test of time?